church front

St. Barnabas Anglican Church, Westmead

"We exist to know and serve Christ and his people and to make Christ known to the glory of God"

Home

About us

Mission
Vision

Services
MORNING - 9:30AM
EVENING - 5:30PM

News and Events

Sermons

Music

Links

Contact us

About Us



Christian witness in Westmead began in 1912 when Sunday School classes were held at the home of the Brooks family in Hassall St Westmead.

As a result of the increase in the number of children attending it was decided that expanded accommodation was required.

As a result of the generous support of Christian men and women from St John's  Parramatta a purpose built hall was erected at 22 Railway Parade Westmead, directly opposite the railway station.

In addition to the Sunday School classes regular monthly church services were held in the new hall.

The present church property at 75 Hawkesbury Rd, Westmead was acquired in 1936 and the existing church hall was moved from the northern side of the railway line to the new site to provide ongoing accommodation.

The new site also contained a unique homestead built in 1862 of Hawkesbury sandstone. The building and site would serve as a residence for the rector and church activities until approval was received for construction of a new church building. Sandstone from the old homestead has been used to construct the new church building.

In 1946 the Recreation Hut that had been located in the grounds of St John's  Parramatta during the Second World War was relocated to Westmead. The building was located at the rear of the church property and provided additional accommodation for the developing work at Westmead.

In May 1952 approval was received for the new building to proceed. In December 1954 the foundation stone was laid and in May 1956 Archbishop Mowll dedicated the church. A new multipurpose hall adjacent to the church was completed in the early 1990's  at which time the old Sunday school hall was demolished